Chapter Champion Award

PRSA Georgia's Chapter Champions

This award recognizes PRSA Georgia members who have gone the extra mile in service to the Chapter. The award is presented on a monthly basis, or as appropriate. Eligibility for the award includes all Georgia Chapter members who go above and beyond the call of duty as a Chapter volunteer.

Mitch Leff is the recipient of the July 2016 Chapter Champion Award for his dedicated volunteer work with PRSA Georgia.  He has served as co-chair of the Chapter’s Independent Counselors Special Interest Group the past three years. In this role, he has coordinated the topics and speakers for the group’s meetings.  Additionally, over the years he has assisted with the Chapter’s Annual Media luncheon programs. In his youth, Mitch served for several years as the chair of PRSA Georgia’s Young Professionals Group.

“I became involved with the Georgia Chapter early in my career – in the early ‘80s -- as a way to network with my peers and expand my understanding of what PR really meant. In 2003, when I launched my own independent agency, I learned about the Independent Counselors Special Interest Group and quickly realized what a valuable resource that would be for me.”

Mitch started his career in 1988 at Cohn & Wolfe as an Account Coordinator working on the 1990 Goodwill Games and rose to become Media Relations Director for the Atlanta office. He worked at Edelman and GCI Group before leaving agency PR (temporarily) to become Director of Public Relations for Turner Learning, the educational division of Turner Broadcasting System, Inc.  At Turner, he was responsible for public relations and public affairs for educational programs across a number of AOL Time Warner networks and entities, including CNN, TNT, Turner Classic Movies, Cartoon Network, HBO, The WB, and the Atlanta Thrashers. He also launched, the network's first educational Web site.

In 2003, he founded Leff & Associates, an independent public relations agency. As president of his own agency, he’s built a team that works on a range of clients locally, regionally and nationally.

Mitch is a 1988 graduate of Emory University’s Goizueta Business School, where he earned his BBA in Finance.

Previous Recipients

Mousa Ackall
Deanna Anderson, APR
Rosalind Barnes Fowler
Whitney Ellis Boudreaux
Jim Brams
Lindsay Cameron
Ann Cave
Sarah Cannon
Angie Champsaur, APR
Sally Corbett
Ray Crockett, APR
Liz Chilla
Angie Clawson
Kellye Crane
Connie Crumbley
Jamie Cwalinski
Marci Davis
Tacey Derenzy
Becca Dill
Laura Dudebout
Mark Dvorak, APR
Kirk Englehardt
Debbie Fitzgerald
Ashley Fulmer, APR
Sarah Funderburk
Roszell Gadson, APR
Carol Galbreath
Chris Giallanza
Karen Powers Haggerty
Elyse Hammett, APR
Ada Hatzios
Nicole Henderson
Kristina Heuman
Justine Holcomb, APR
Tim Hussey, APR
Caroline Sanfilippo Huston
Alison Ilg
Paige Janco, APR
David Jones
Cindi Kurczewski
Victoria Lelash
Victoria Lightfoot
Jennifer Lob
Stephen Loudermilk
Mary Rose Macaranas
Michael Manning, APR
Katherine Mason
Michael McCullough
Victoria Barksdale McGhee, APR
Simone McKinney
Ruth Mitcham
Mikey Mooney
Lisa Newbern
Kimberly Nogi
Helga Ojinmah
Elizabeth Olmstead
Kritin Parrish
Becky Peterson
Jacqueline Petty
Michelle Potter
Joe Quimby, APR
Eminah Quintyne
Jessica Riley
Rocio Rivera, APR
Wayne Roberts
Jason Rollins, APR
Don Rountree
Elizabeth Salter
Morgan Sapp
Jenny Schmitt
Kelsey Schmitt
Melissa Smith
Monica Brosman Smith
Stephanie Stinn
Lisa Bigazzi Tilt
Natalie Tindall, Ph.D.
Alison Tyrer
Jackie Tyson
Ed Van Herik
Meera Venkatraman
Dave Watson
Malika White
Kristy Wilson, APR
Nancy Wood, APR, Fellow, PRSA

Nomination Process

  • E-mail the following nomination information to Denise Grant at
    • Name of nominee
    • Company and title of nominee
    • E-mail and phone number
    • Reason for nomination
    • Nominator's name and contact information
  • Nomination deadline for each month's Chapter Champion is the Thursday following the current month's luncheon.
  • Award is presented on a monthly basis, or as appropriate, at the monthly luncheon meeting and featured in the following week's e-mail to members.
  • Note that current Chapter leaders are eligible with the caveat that the recognition is not based on activities as designated by their position.